top of page

Krishna Ksetra Swami

Krishna Ksetra Swami

Mon, 15th July - Sun, 21st July 2024

Program

Tuesday, 16th July

Time

Place

Program

07.30 am

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Morning Lecture

Wednesday, 17th July

Time

Place

Program

07.30 am

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Morning Lecture

Thursday, 18th July

Time

Place

Program

07.00 pm

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Cow Care Earth Care

Friday, 19th July

Time

Place

Program

07.30 am

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Morning Lecture

Saturday, 20th July

Time

Place

Program

11.00 am

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Sevak Sanga with S.B. Keshava Swami

Sunday, 21st July

Time

Place

Program

12.45 pm

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Tamilfeast Lecture


Biography

Krishna Kshetra Swami – teacher, writer, and traveller – is a disciple of His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, Founder-Acharya of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON).


He has served as a missionary, temple priest (pujari), and counselor for bhakti-yoga practitioners from the time of his formal initiation in 1972. From 1972 to 1976 he was based in Germany, the Netherlands, and Denmark; then he began to participate in Vaishnava missionary activities in central Europe. Almost every year, from 1978 to 1995 he visited India on pilgrimage.


In 1995, as coordinator of a research group, he compiled and published Pancaratra-pradipa (in 2 volumes), a manual for Caitanya Vaishnava temple worship. He also served ISKCON’s GBC as the minister for Deity worship from then until 2005.


In 2004, after eight years of university study (resuming his interrupted studies from 1972), he received a Ph.D. degree from the University of Oxford (St. Cross College), for his dissertation on Caitanya Vaishnava image worship, now available from Routledge Publishers as Attending Krsna’s Image: Caitanya Vaisnava Murti-seva as Devotional Truth (2006), as a book in the Routledge Hindu Studies Series.


Krishna Kshetra Swami is now a Research Fellow of the Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies. He also teaches at Bhaktivedanta College, Radhadesh, since 2002. He recently taught survey courses in Indian religions and Asian religions in the Religion Department at the University of Florida, Gainesville. Beginning in September 2007, he began teaching at Chinese University of Hong Kong — courses in Indian religion and culture. After a full year of teaching, he then continued to teach one semester per year for the next four years. Since then, he has been giving lectures at several universities in the People’s Republic of China.

Amidst academic work he also travels extensively, teaching about spiritual life, as comprehended in the Vaishnava devotional (bhakti) tradition coming from Sri Caitanya.


These are the countries in which he has studied, taught, counseled, and participated in spiritual community-building:


Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Macedonia, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Rumania, Russia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad, United Kingdom, United States, Yugoslavia.

bottom of page

top of page

Krishna Ksetra Swami

Krishna Ksetra Swami

Mo, 15. Juli – So, 21. Juli 2024

Programmplan

Dienstag, 16. Juli

Zeit

Ort

Programm

07:30 Uhr

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Morgenvorlesung

Mittwoch, 17. Juli

Zeit

Ort

Programm

07:30 Uhr

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Morgenvorlesung

Donnerstag, 18. Juli

Zeit

Ort

Programm

19:00 Uhr

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Cow Care Earth Care

Freitag, 19. Juli

Zeit

Ort

Programm

07:30 Uhr

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Morgenvorlesung

Samstag, 20. Juli

Zeit

Ort

Programm

11:00 Uhr

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Sevak Sanga mit S.B. Keshava Swami

Sonntag, 21. Juli 

Zeit

Ort

Programm

12:45 Uhr

Krishna Tempel Zürich

Tamilfeast Vorlesung


Biografie

Krishna Kshetra Swami – Lehrer, Schriftsteller und Reisender – ist ein Schüler Seiner Göttlichen Gnade A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, dem Gründer-Acharya der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Krishna-Bewusstsein (ISKCON).


Seit seiner formellen Einweihung im Jahr 1972 dient er als Missionar, Tempelpriester (Pujari) und Berater für Bhakti-Yoga-Praktizierende. Von 1972 bis 1976 war er in Deutschland, den Niederlanden und Dänemark tätig; anschließend begann er, an Vaishnava-Missionarsaktivitäten in Zentraleuropa teilzunehmen. Fast jedes Jahr von 1978 bis 1995 besuchte er Indien auf Pilgerreisen.


1995, als Koordinator einer Forschungsgruppe, stellte er das Pancaratra-pradipa (in 2 Bänden), ein Handbuch für die Caitanya Vaishnava Tempelverehrung, zusammen und veröffentlichte es. Er diente auch als Minister für Götterverehrung im GBC von ISKCON von 1995 bis 2005.


2004 erhielt er nach acht Jahren Universitätsstudium (wobei er sein unterbrochenes Studium von 1972 wieder aufnahm) einen Doktortitel von der Universität Oxford (St. Cross College) für seine Dissertation über die Bildverehrung im Caitanya Vaishnavismus, die nun bei Routledge Publishers als „Attending Krsna’s Image: Caitanya Vaisnava Murti-seva as Devotional Truth“ (2006) als Buch in der Routledge Hindu Studies Series erhältlich ist.


Krishna Kshetra Swami ist nun Forschungsstipendiat am Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies. Seit 2002 unterrichtet er auch am Bhaktivedanta College in Radhadesh. Kürzlich lehrte er Einführungskurse in indischen Religionen und asiatischen Religionen im Fachbereich Religion an der University of Florida, Gainesville. Ab September 2007 begann er, an der Chinesischen Universität Hongkong Kurse in indischer Religion und Kultur zu unterrichten. Nach einem vollen Jahr des Lehrens setzte er dies für die nächsten vier Jahre jeweils ein Semester pro Jahr fort. Seitdem hält er Vorträge an mehreren Universitäten in der Volksrepublik China.


Neben seiner akademischen Arbeit reist er auch extensiv, um über das spirituelle Leben zu lehren, wie es in der Vaishnava-Bhakti-Tradition von Sri Caitanya verstanden wird.


In diesen Ländern hat er studiert, gelehrt, beraten und am Aufbau spiritueller Gemeinschaften teilgenommen:


Argentinien, Australien, Österreich, Belgien, Bosnien, Brasilien, Bulgarien, Chile, China, Kroatien, Tschechien, Dänemark, Finnland, Frankreich, Deutschland, Griechenland, Ungarn, Indien, Indonesien, Italien, Mazedonien, Malaysia, Neuseeland, die Niederlande, Norwegen, Peru, Polen, Rumänien, Russland, Singapur, Slowenien, Spanien, Schweden, Schweiz, Trinidad, Vereinigtes Königreich, Vereinigte Staaten, Jugoslawien.

bottom of page