top of page
KRISHNA CONSCIOUSNESS
A MILLENNIA-OLD TRADITION

THE CULTURAL BACKGROUND OF

KRISHNA CONSCIOUSNESS

vedic.jpg

​In addition to the scriptures, there were always teachers (gurus) who embodied and passed on Vedic knowledge through their personal example - over the generations and centuries, from master to student, right up to the present day. This unbroken line of disciples, which goes back directly to Krishna, kept the Vedic tradition alive, although people increasingly turned away from it in the Kali-yuga. Therefore, those who knew the meaning and purpose of the Vedas longed for the appearance of that divine incarnation that would re-establish the pure form of Vedic culture and religion.

caitanya4.jpg
caitanya1.jpg
sankirtan2.jpg

SRI CAITANYA MAHAPRABHU

In 1486, Krishna appeared in Bengal as Sri Caitanya. His appearance as a divine incarnation (avatara) had already been predicted in the Vedas. He founded the Krishna consciousness movement in India and revealed the process of God realization in Kali-yuga: chanting (singing and praying) the holy names of God.

In other words, the same Krishna who spoke the Bhagavad-gita five thousand years ago appeared again five hundred years ago to show how to live the Bhagavad-gita, because God always gives both the perfect teaching and the perfect example. Sri Caitanya planted the seed of a new spiritual epoch within the Kali-yuga.


He taught that true God-consciousness is not dependent on caste or religious affiliation. Therefore, he opposed all social, religious and racial bias and introduced the communal chanting of the names of God to enable all people to become Krishna-conscious. He prophesied that one day the holy name of Krishna would be chanted all over the world. The followers of Sri Caitanya saw the fulfillment of this prophecy as their main task. They traveled all over India, wrote books and, from the 19th century onwards, also began to make Vedic knowledge accessible to the whole world through the English language.

The decisive step was taken ten generations after Sri Caitanya by the great scholar and devotee A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada (1896-1977), who made the name of Krishna and the message of the Vedas known worldwide.

prabhupada-with-german-devotees.jpg
Srila_Prabhupada_smiling_happily.jpeg
NY_Kirtan_by_Hilton_1974.jpg

THE FOUNDING OF ISKCON

The International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON), also known as the Hare Krishna movement, is the contemporary branch of the ancient Krishna religion. ISKCON is a cultural and religious movement that provides people with the opportunity to learn, study, and practically apply Vedic knowledge.

The International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON) was founded in 1966 in New York by His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada. Known affectionately as Shrila Prabhupada among his disciples, he had already established himself in India as an author, Sanskrit translator, and spiritual teacher. In recognition of his contributions, he was honored with the title "Bhaktivedanta" in 1947, meaning "teacher of bhakti, the conclusion of the Vedas."

In 1922, his spiritual master instructed him to spread the teachings of Krishna in the English language, a directive that shaped his entire life. At the age of sixty, after fulfilling his family obligations, he became a monk and began his seminal work - a multi-volume annotated translation of the 18,000-verse Shrimad-Bhagavatam, a philosophical masterpiece of the Vedic scriptures.

In 1965, at the age of 70, Shrila Prabhupada traveled to America on a freighter to fulfill the mission of discipleship. He began as a penniless monk, alone and without any support; yet gradually, young people came to him, drawn by his spiritual maturity and charisma.

1970-1973-01-42-13.jpg

PRABHUPADA'S LEGACY

Despite his advanced age, Srila Prabhupada traveled tirelessly. He established 108 centers in 49 countries, accepted thousands of disciples, and brought the message of Krishna consciousness to millions of people. At the same time, he wrote over sixty books with translations and explanations of the Vedic scriptures, which he himself described as "ISKCON's greatest gift to humanity."

Gurus.jpg

ISKCON TODAY

After Shrila Prabhupada's passing at the age of 81, the Krishna Consciousness movement is continued by a committee of 30 members responsible for organization, problem-solving, and maintaining Vedic standards. Additionally, this committee appoints new generations of spiritual masters from among Shrila Prabhupada's disciples (currently around 80), who bear the responsibility of upholding the purity of the Krishna-conscious tradition and initiating new students. Thus, the Hare Krishna movement represents an authentic continuation of the Vedic disciple succession.

bottom of page

top of page

DER KULTURELLE HINTERGRUND DES

KRISHNA-BEWUSSTSEINS

vedic.jpg

Neben den Schriften gab es immer auch Lehrer (Gurus), die durch ihr persönliches Beispiel das vedische Wissen verkörperten und weiterreichten – über die Generationen und Jahrhunderte, von Meister zu Schüler, bis in unsere Gegenwart. Diese ununterbrochene Schülernachfolge, die direkt auf Krishna zurückgeht, erhielt die vedische Tradition am Leben, obwohl sich die Menschen im Kali-yuga immer mehr von ihr abwandten. Deshalb sehnten diejenigen, die den Sinn und Zweck der Veden kannten, das Erscheinen jener Gottesinkarnation herbei, welche die reine Form der vedischen Kultur und Religion wieder etablieren sollte.

caitanya4.jpg
caitanya1.jpg
sankirtan2.jpg

SRI CAITANYA MAHAPRABHU

Im Jahre 1486 erschien Krishna in Bengalen als Sri Caitanya. Sein Erscheinen als göttliche Inkarnation (Avatara) war bereits in den Veden vorausgesagt worden. Er begründete die Bewegung für Krishna-Bewusstsein in Indien und offenbarte den Vorgang der Gotteserkenntnis im Kali-yuga: das „Chanten“ (Singen und Beten) der heiligen Namen Gottes.

Mit anderen Worten, derselbe Krishna, der vor fünftausend Jahren die Bhagavad-gita sprach, erschien vor fünfhundert Jahren nochmals, um zu zeigen, wie man die Bhagavad-gita lebt, denn Gott gibt immer beides: vollkommene Lehre und vollkommenes Beispiel. Sri Caitanya setzte den Samen zu einer neuen spirituellen Epoche innerhalb des Kali-yugas.

Er lehrte, dass echtes Gottesbewusstsein nicht von Kasten- oder Konfessionszugehörigkeit abhängig ist. Deshalb wandte er sich gegen jede soziale, religiöse und rassistische Voreingenommenheit und führte das gemeinsame Singen der Namen Gottes ein, um es allen Menschen zu ermöglichen, Krishna-bewusst zu werden. Er prophezeite, dass der heilige Name Krishnas eines Tages auf der ganzen Welt gesungen werde. In der Erfüllung dieser Prophezeiung sahen die Nachfolger Sri Caitanyas ihre Hauptaufgabe. Sie reisten durch ganz Indien, schrieben Bücher und begannen seit dem 19. Jahrhundert auch, das vedische Wissen über die englische Sprache der ganzen Welt zugänglich zu machen.

Den entscheidenden Schritt vollbrachte zehn Generationen nach Sri Caitanya der grosse Gelehrte und Gottgeweihte A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada (1896-1977), der den Namen Krishnas und die Botschaft der Veden weltweit bekannt machte.

prabhupada-with-german-devotees.jpg
Srila_Prabhupada_smiling_happily.jpeg
NY_Kirtan_by_Hilton_1974.jpg

DIE GRÜNDUNG DER ISKCON

Die Internationale Gesellschaft für Krishna-Bewusstsein (ISKCON), auch Hare-Krishna-Bewegung genannt, ist der zeitgenössische Zweig der jahrtausendealten Krishna-Religion. ISKCON ist eine kulturelle und religiöse Bewegung, die den Menschen die Möglichkeit bietet, das vedische Wissen kennenzulernen, zu studieren und praktisch anzuwenden.

Gegründet wurde die ISKCON 1966 in New York von His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada. Shrila Prabhupada, wie ihn seine Schüler nennen, war bereits in Indien als Autor, Sanskrit-Übersetzer und spiritueller Meister tätig gewesen. In Anerkennung seiner Verdienste war ihm 1947 der Ehrentitel „Bhaktivedanta“ (Lehrer von bhakti, der Schlussfolgerung der Veden“) verliehen worden. Schon früher, im Jahre 1922, hatte ihm sein spiritueller Meister aufgetragen, die Lehre Krishnas in englischer Sprache bekanntzumachen. Diese Anweisung prägte sein gesamtes Leben. Im Alter von sechzig Jahren, nach Erfüllung seiner Familienpflichten, wurde er Mönch und begann mit der Arbeit an seinem Hauptwerk – einer vielbändigen kommentierten Übersetzung des 18 000 Verse umfassenden Shrimad-Bhagavatam (der philosophische Klassiker der vedischen Schriften).

Im Jahre 1965, im Alter von 70 Jahren, reiste Shrila Prabhupada auf einem Frachtschiff nach Amerika, um den Auftrag der Schülernachfolge zu erfüllen. Er begann als mittelloser Mönch, allein und ohne jegliche Unterstützung; doch nach und nach kamen junge Mensch zu ihm – angezogen von seiner spirituellen Reife und Ausstrahlung.

1970-1973-01-42-13.jpg

PRABHUPADAS VERMÄCHTNIS

Trotz seines fortgeschrittenen Alters war Srila Prabhupada unermüdlich unterwegs. Er gründete 108 Zentren in 49 Ländern, nahm tausende von Schülern an und brachte Millionen von Menschen die Botschaft des Krishna-Bewusstseins näher. Gleichzeitig verfasste er über sechzig Bücher mit Übersetzungen und Erläuterungen der vedischen Schriften, die er selbst als „ISKCONs grösstes Geschenk an die Menschheit“ bezeichnete.

Gurus.jpg

ISKCON HEUTE

Nach Shrila Prabhupadas Verscheiden (im Alter von 81 Jahren) wird die Bewegung für Krishna-Bewusstsein von einem 30-köpfigen Gremium weitergeführt, das für die Organisation, die Lösung von Problemen und die Einhaltung des vedischen Standards zuständig ist. Des weiteren ernennt dieses Gremium aus den Reihen von Shrila Prabhupadas Schülern die neue Generation von spirituellen Meistern (gegenwärtig rund 80), die die verantwortungsvolle Aufgabe haben, die Reinheit der Krishna-bewussten Tradition aufrechtzuerhalten und neue Schüler einzuweihen. Die Hare-Krishna-Bewegung ist somit eine authentische Fortsetzung der vedischen Schülernachfolge.

WEITERE THEMEN

bottom of page